Advanced Microgrid Solutions, which uses energy storage systems for electric utility grid support, named Kelly Warner as president. Already on the AMS board of directors, Warner most recently was CEO at Deerpath Energy, a micro-wind energy company that he founded. He also previously served as CEO of XENERGY and KEMA.  

Itron named Tom Deitrich as executive VP and COO. Deitrich has held leadership positions at Freescale Semiconductor, Flextronics, Sony Ericsson Mobile Communications and GE.

Sven Künzel is now managing director of PV mounting systems firm Renusol, according to the website PV-Tech. Previously, he was with Schletter. RBI Solar acquired Renusol in 2014.

JA Solar, a Chinese solar module builder, named Robert Petrina as managing director and president, North America. Most recently, Petrina served as managing director of Yingli Green Energy Americas. Prior to joining Yingli, Robert led global silicon procurement for GE's solar business unit. JA shipped 3.1 gigawatts of solar products in 2014.

Project developer Renewable Energy Systems (RES) added new VP of energy storage business development Craig Horne. Prior to joining RES, Horne was founding CEO and final CSO at flow battery startup EnerVault. The company claims that RES has 77 megawatts/47 megawatt-hours of contracted energy storage projects and employs more than 30 full-time energy storage professionals.

Mats Fagerlund, former executive board member of Vattenfall, will head the supervisory board of energy storage firm Younicos. King Lee, former CEO of Good Technology, has been named as an independent director. Younicos has nearly 100 megawatts installed in more than 20 energy storage projects worldwide.


We welcome Enertech Search Partners, an executive search firm with a dedicated cleantech practice, as the sponsor of our long-running GTM jobs column.

Paige Carratturo, Enertech's CEO, takes a look at the salaries for chief revenue officers and chief commercial officers and the rise of the cleantech CCO in her most recent blog post.

To see a snapshot of Enertech's active searches, click here.


David Marcus is now managing director, responsible for acquiring and financing energy assets, at Net Lease Capital Energy, "an investment firm that has acquired over $9 billion in property in recent years." He founded General Compression, a long-duration energy storage startup, that merged with fellow compressed air energy storage startup SustainX to form GCX Energy Storage. SustainX raised about $30 million from investors including Polaris Venture Partners, General Catalyst, RockPort Capital and GE, as well as $5.4 million from the DOE. General Compression raised more than $35 million from investors including Northwater Capital, U.S. Renewables Group and Duke Energy.

John Bartlett is now advisor for finance at the U.S. Department of Energy. He was most recently senior research analyst at the Milken Institute and was a DOE SunShot Fellow in 2011.

A new group of officers was elected by IREC's board of directors, led by new Board Chair Larry Shirley, president of Shirley Associates, and Vice Chair John Hoffner, senior solar engineer at AECOM. The board includes Chris Cook, Karl Rábago of the Pace Energy & Climate Center, Marc Roper, principal of Sovereign Modular, Carl Siegrist of Carl Siegrist Consulting, and Jennifer Somers, formerly at the U.S. DOE. IREC is a not-for-profit 501(c)(3) "stakeholder coordinator, expert resource and facilitator of regulatory reform."

From last week's jobs column:

SunEdison named Stephen Cerrone as its chief HR officer. Previously, Cerrone led HR and communications at Hudson's Bay Company. In case you missed it, the story on SunEdison's layoffs was broken by GTM's Stephen Lacey here.

Schneider Electric named Prith Banerjee, the former director of global technology R&D at Accenture, as CTO. Prior to Accenture, Banerjee was CTO of ABB. 

Lithium-ion battery maker LG Chem Power named Denise Gray as CEO. Most recently, Gray was VP of electrification powertrain engineering at AVL. She was also director of global battery systems engineering at GM, where her team developed the Li-ion battery system (powered by LG Chem battery cells) used in the Chevrolet Volt.