Last night, the U.S. Senate unanimously confirmed American Council On Renewable Energy’s (ACORE) President and CEO, Vice Admiral Dennis McGinn, to be Assistant Secretary of the Navy for Energy, Installations and Environment. Michael Brower will act as interim CEO. Dan Adler, ACORE board member, said, “the Board is actively searching for an individual with the credentials and knowledge to represent the renewable energy industry and to achieve the essential consensus that leads to progress for the industry."


First Solar just named Sharon Allen to its board of directors. Allen served as U.S. Chairman of Deloitte from 2003 to 2011, retiring in May 2011. She was the first and only woman to serve as chairman of a large, private U.S. professional services organization, according to a release.   


Sempra Energy (SRE) just announced that Martha B. Wyrsch, formerly with Duke Energy and its spin-off, Spectra Energy, will join the energy giant as EVP and general counsel. Wyrsch will report to Debra L. Reed, Sempra Energy's chairman and CEO. Sempra Energy, based in San Diego, had 2012 revenues of approximately $10 billion. 


Suntech Power (STP) appointed Michael Nacson and Kurt Metzger to its Board of Directors. The two new board members were nominated by the holders of Suntech's 3 percent Convertible Notes as a condition of the Forbearance Agreement announced in June. Both new board members have experience in businesses with distressed debt and corporate restructuring.


CodeGreen Solutions, a provider of sustainable and energy-efficient solutions for commercial real estate, named Peter L. DiCapua as Chairman.


GELI, a designer of energy storage integration software, just closed a $500,000 bridge round of financing and added former co-founder of Xtreme Power Michael Breen as CEO.